Committees & Chairs PDF Print E-mail

Childcare Committee

This committee is charged with the establishment of reimbursement policies and determination of childcare reimbursement awards for UCPEA members.

Name Unit Phone Email
Sara Cook
3008
(860) 486-6512
sara.cook@uconn.edu
Laura Evangelista 2051 (860) 486-3013 laura.evangelista@uconn.edu
Laurie Lanka 6076 (860) 486-8052 laurie.lanka@uconn.edu
Lisa Orcutt, Chair 3138 (860) 486-1379 lisa.mikolinski@uconn.edu
Tony Molloy
1005
(860) 486-4949
tony.molloy@uconn.edu
Van Nguyen 3138 (860) 486-5787 van.nguyen@uconn.edu
Mary Ann Phaneuf
3092
(860) 486-2130
mary_ann.phaneuf@uconn.edu

Constitution & Bylaw Committee

Name Unit Phone Email
Jason Escalera  1083  (860) 486-3855  jason.escalera@uconn.edu
Sheila Kucko, Chair
3186 (860) 486-0830 sheila.kucko@uconn.edu
Peter Morenus 3144 (860) 486-5386 peter.morenus@uconn.edu

Committee on Political Education (COPE)

This committee works on all aspects of political action which may directly or indirectly affect UCPEA. COPE has successfully organized lobbying efforts on targeted issues, voter registration, phone banks for union-endorsed candidates and legislative luncheons.

Name Unit Phone Email
Peter Morenus, Chair 3144 (860) 486-5386 peter.morenus@uconn.edu

Finance Committee

This committee develops the long range financial plans for the UCPEA, drafts a preliminary budget meeting with the treasurer, recommends compensation for elected officers, and determines the level of dues needed to fund the budget. Budget year is July 1 - June 30.

Name Unit Phone Email
Rachel Greene 1041 (860) 486-8399 rachel.s.greene@uconn.edu
Suzanne Hanlon 4116 (860) 486-2819 suzanne.hanlon@uconn.edu
Joshua LaPorte Law School (860) 570-5113 joshua.laporte@uconn.edu
Rosemary Marcellino 3038 (860) 486-1656
rosemary.marcellino@uconn.edu
Jennifer Morenus 3188 (860) 486-1135
jennifer.morenus@uconn.edu
David Paquette 6080 (860) 486-0205 david.m.paquette@uconn.edu
Susan Rosman
3007
(860) 486-5401 susan.rosman@uconn.edu
Gisele Russo, Chair
1020 (860) 486-6705 gisele.russo@uconn.edu

 

Health & Safety Committee

This committee acts as a resource on health concerns and to develop strategies to correct poor working conditions. Grievance team members are a part of this Committee. This Committee also provides workshops on health and safety.

Name Unit Phone Email
Kathleen M. Sanner, Chair 2011 (860) 486-0773 kathleen.sanner@uconn.edu

Hiring Practices

Name Unit Phone Email
Tina Burnham 4040 (860) 486-1037 tina.burnham@uconn.edu
Christina Dahl, Co-chair 3070 (860) 486-5159 christina.dahl@uconn.edu
Jenna Henderson 3092 (860) 486-2216 jenna.henderson@uconn.edu
Michele Hoff Fryar
Law School (860) 570-5321 michele.hoff@uconn.edu
James Reiman, Co-chair 3042 (860) 486-5520 james.reiman@uconn.edu
Rosario Schillinger Hartford (860) 570-9328 rosario.schillinger@uconn.edu
Nancy Urcinas Hartford (860) 570-9180 nancy.urcinas@uconn.edu

Job Classification Committee

This is a joint labor management committee which assigns points to generic job descriptions. These scores set your salary level. Members are appointed to the Committee by the executive board.

Name Unit Phone Email
Kelly Bartlett Waterbury (203) 236-9871 kelly.bartlett@uconn.edu
Nikki Cole
4022 (860) 486-2926 nikki.cole@uconn.edu
Sheila Kucko 3186 (860) 486-0830 sheila.kucko@uconn.edu
Mike Long 1209
(860) 486-1352 michael.long@uconn.edu
Kathy Fischer, Alternate
3118 (860) 486-4738 kathy.fischer@uconn.edu
Lisa Pane, Chair
1152 (860) 486-0608 lisa.pane@uconn.edu

Job Placement & Training

A state-wide labor management committee devoted to placing and training laid-off state workers and providing additional health benefits. Forms and information are available in the UCPEA office.

Membership Services Committee

This committee organizes UCPEA social events and programs and also oversees all areas of union benefits.

Name Unit Phone Email
Mary Boston 4011 (860) 486-0765

mary.boston@uconn.edu

Veronica Cook, Chair 6047 (860) 486-0990 veronica.cook@uconn.edu
Lauren Douglas 1185 (860) 486-4174 lauren.douglas@uconn.edu
Joni Gould
1133 (860) 486-3853
joni.gould@uconn.edu
Pat Moriarty 4011 (860) 486-0794 patricia.moriarty@uconn.edu
Cathy Salai 2058 (860) 486-5420
catherine.salai@uconn.edu

Nominating Committee

Name Unit Phone Email
Angela Rola 3186 (860) 486-0848 angela.rola@uconn.edu
Mike Long
1209
(860) 486-1352 michael.long@uconn.edu

Parking Committee

UCPEA has representatives on the University Parking Advisory Committee. This Committee meets periodically to discuss and recommend changes for the improvement of the parking situation on campus.

Name Unit Phone Email
Kathleen M. Sanner 4011 (860) 486-0773 kathleen.sanner@uconn.edu

Professional Issues Committee

This committee administers the fund for professional Development. They review applications and make decisions on distribution of funds. The fund supports travel, conference, seminar, workshop and course reimbursement.

Name Unit Phone Email
Donna Hardaway 4077 (860) 486-2532 donna.hardaway@uconn.edu
Pamela Heath-Johnston 5075 (860) 486-1167 pamela.heath-johnston@uconn.edu
JP Lacombe, Management 5075 (860) 486-5367 john-paul.lacombe@uconn.edu
Jennifer Morenus 3188 (860) 486-1135 jennifer.morenus@uconn.edu
Tony Paguni 1027 (860) 486-4201 anthony.paguni@uconn.edu
Charlie Pei 2005 (860) 486-5782 xiaolin.pei@uconn.edu
Angela Rola, Chair 2186 (860) 486-0848 angela.rola@uconn.edu

Scholarship Committee

Name Unit Phone Email
Marita Decozio-Wiley  4210  (860) 486-2664  Marita.D.Wiley@uconn.edu
Barbara Kamm
4011 (860) 486-4700 barbara.kamm@uconn.edu
Michael Rodriguez
1005
(860) 486-9325 michael.a.rodriguez@uconn.edu
Luann Saunders-Kanabay, Chair 2151 (860) 486-1429 luann.saunders-kanabay@uconn.edu

Sick Bank

Name Unit Phone Email
Mary Bey
2011
(860) 486-4828 mary.bey@uconn.edu
Debbie Hubbell, Chair
2011 (860) 486-3427 debbie.hubbell@uconn.edu
Valerie Kiefer
2011 (860) 486-3427 valerie.kiefer@uconn.edu
Mike Long 1209
(860) 486-1352 mlong@uconn.edu

State Employee Bargaining Agent Coalition (SEBAC)

SEBAC deals with issues related to state employees' pension and health care benefits.

 

State Employee Council (SEC)

This is a coalition of AFT-CT unions to discuss issues of common concern to state employees and strategies for action when needed.

Union Representatives

The UCPEA is divided into areas which may consist of a building, buildings, or a campus. Each area chooses a member or members to be a union representative. The union reps act as a conduit of information between the members and the executive board. The union reps also serve on the negotiating Committee which sets priorities and helps write proposals for the bargaining team. Union reps are good sources of information for many issues at the University. The union reps usually meet on the first Wednesday of the month and periodically participate in training to help them in their union position.

Name Unit Phone Email

Michele Hoff, Chief Union Rep.

Law School
(860) 570-5321 michele.hoff@uconn.edu

Women's Issues Committee

Monitors the University's equal opportunity policies and is a liaison with active women's groups throughout the state. Serves as an advocate for female members. Provides information and workshops on communication, family and work issues.

Name Unit Phone Email
Diane Bolduc 4097 (860) 486-4775

diane.bolduc@uconn.edu

Veronica Cook, Chair 3047 (860) 486-0990 veronica.cook@uconn.edu
Younghee Chudy 3136 (860) 486-3582 younghee.chudy@uconn.edu
Lindsey Danburg 1117 (860) 486-8418 lindsey.danburg@uconn.edu

Angela Rola

3186 (860) 486-0848 angela.rola@uconn.edu

 

University Health & Safety Committee

UCPEA has a representative on this University Committee which addresses health and safety issues.

Name Unit Phone Email
Kathleen M. Sanner, Chair 4011 (860) 486-0773 kathleen.sanner@uconn.edu